top of page

It's AI Day!

My girls are run with a herd of 500 Black Angus/ Maine Anjou influenced cows that get bred to Black Angus bulls year over year. Oliver is constantly telling me that his bulls are good bulls (which I don't disagree!), but it makes it a little difficult to maintain my red herd when they'd be exposed to black bulls each breeding season, so I've come up with a solution! Because Oliver AI's his replacement heifers each year, I've decided to bring in my first calf heifers to be AI'ed at the same time so that I can guarantee some red babies hit the ground next spring! Oliver was using AI Technician Charles Munroe who sells semen for Select Sires so to keep things easy and convenient, I had Charles bring in semen for me. I went with "PIE Cinch 4126", a Red Angus bull from Pieper Red Angus from Hay Springs, Nebraska and Rhodes Red Angus of Faulkton, South Dakota. This bull really caught my eye and appealed to me for both his calving ease and the production record that replacement females with his pedigree have. I can't wait to see his babies come spring, 2018!

bottom of page