top of page

Everyone is pregnant!


Today we preg checked the girls, and I'm pretty excited to say that they're all pregnant! As I suspected though, 3 of the girls had 120 day pregnancies, so they caught the AI and will therefore drop red calves and "Tips" will be 2 for 2 on black calves, as she was a shorter day pregnancy and therefore got bred by one of Oliver's bulls.

I'll just count my blessings if all 4 heifers carry their calves to term and they're all healthy when they hit the ground!

On another note....I found out last week that Gail and Rob Hamilton of Hamilton Farms have been asked to be my mentors! I was introduced to them last week while I was attending Farmfair in Edmonton and in the short time I spent visiting with them I deduced that I couldn't have been paired with better people!

During our visit, Rob told me that he and Gail started their operation from scratch and although he wouldn't wish that for his friends OR his enemies, they're equally excited to be paired with me so that they can impart some of the things they've learned along the way in order to help me on my journey!

bottom of page